Order of Ontario

As the Crown’s representative, the Lieutenant Governor recognizes Ontarians through the honours system. The Order of Ontario is the province’s highest official honour.

What is the Order of Ontario? The Order of Ontario was created in 1986 and the first appointments were made in 1987. Members of the Order of Ontario are invested with their insignia by the Lieutenant Governor as The Queen’s representative.

Who are the newest appointees?

Read the press release, here.

Who are the members of the Order?

Look through the list, here.

Who is eligible for the Order of Ontario?

  • a long-term or former resident of Ontario (the nominee does not need to be a Canadian citizen)
  • someone whose career, in any field, has had a major impact or influence on the province, Canada or abroad

How can I nominate someone?

Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis with an annual deadline of March 31.
The nomination form can be found here.

How does the selection process work?

An advisory council consisting of the Chief Justice of Ontario, the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, the Secretary of the Cabinet and up to six additional members of the Order of Ontario appointed to the council by the Premier reviews the nominations and provides the Government with recommendations.

For more information on the advisory panel, questions can be sent to the Ministry responsible:
Contact the Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism, and Culture Industries.