Lieutenant Governor Invests latest Appointees to the Order of Ontario

On October 24, 2022, The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario, invested 22 exceptional individuals into Order of Ontario during a ceremony at the Royal Ontario Museum. 20 appointees from 2020 and 2 appointees from 2019 were invested during this ceremony.

The Order of Ontario, the province’s highest honour, recognizes individuals whose exceptional achievements have left a lasting legacy in the province, in Canada, and beyond. Members of the Order of Ontario come from all walks of life, represent diverse fields of endeavour, and have played an important role in shaping the province.

Since its establishment in 1986, 798 people have been appointed to the Order of Ontario.  Appointments to the Order are made on the recommendation of an independent advisory council based on merit of accomplishments of nominees put forward by the public. The nomination deadline is March 31 each year. You can nominate a resident or former long-term resident of Ontario for the 2023 Order of Ontario at ca/page/order-ontario.

The 2020 Appointees to the Order of Ontario are:

  • Daniel Allen
  • Joseph Raymond Buncic
  • Michael DeGasperis
  • Raymond Desjardins
  • Ernest Eves
  • Hershell Ezrin
  • Carlo Fidani
  • Karen Goldenberg*
  • Michael D. Harris
  • Ellis Jacob*
  • Jing Jiang
  • Shana Kelley*
  • André Lapierre
  • Dale Lastman
  • André M. Levesque*
  • Peter Liu
  • Hazel McCallion
  • Arden McGregor
  • Janet McKelvey
  • George McLean
  • Hon. Rosemary Moodie
  • Hon. Robert. W. Runciman
  • Marilyn Sonley*
  • Ahmad Reza Tabrizi
  • Hon. Karen Weiler

The following 2019 appointees were also invested:

  • Allan Carswell
  • John Colangeli

Read more about this year’s appointees here.